The Mize’s Invade Croatia

Its true.  My hubby flew back to the states for graduation and my parents took me and my nearly-three-year-old to Rovinj, Croatia (or Hrvatska in Croatian.)  Let’s sum it up.  Gorgeous blue ocean, fantastic seafood and friendly people who welcome tourists and make you feel like coming back….IT WAS SPECTACULAR!

This was our view from the hotel, of the town of Rovinj.

This was our view from the hotel, of the town of Rovinj.  I climbed the tower of that church in the distance, for spectacular views…

Croatia is on the magnificent Mediterranean coast, but is known for having hard rocky beaches, rather than long sandy ones.  I think this adds to the beauty.

The hotel's option for swimming, if the ocean is not for you...

The hotel’s option for swimming, if the ocean is not for you…

Vast sandy beaches they may not be, but gorgeous coastline for lounging there are...here I am, lounging with my pop.

Vast sandy beaches they may not be, but gorgeous coastline for lounging there are…here I am, lounging with my Pop and a beer.

And, here is my Pop.

And, here is my Pop.

Since much of the shore is hard rock, they build some oasis for kiddos to swim.

Since much of the shore is hard rock, they build some oasis for kiddos to swim.

Typical Croatian beach, I did leave out the pics of the topless sunbathers and I neglected to visit the numerous nudist camps. Not kidding.

Typical Croatian beach, I did leave out the pics of the topless sunbathers and I neglected to visit the numerous nudist camps. Not kidding.

However, being that we were there in May, it was a tad cold for the Mize’s…

This was our idea of swimming in Croatia.  Indoor style for our little guy.

This was our idea of swimming in Croatia. Indoor style for our little guy. Let’s be clear, he was the only child wearing trunks as shorts. Every other man and boy were in speedo-style.

In the evening, we feasted on amazing seafood cooked to order.  Here, local fish, swiss chard and

In the evening, we feasted on amazing seafood cooked to order. Here, local fish, swiss chard and potatoes.

Mom ordered a typical Croatian dish, made of ground beef, pork and veal.

Mom ordered a typical Croatian dish, Cevapcici, made of ground beef, pork and veal.

Here is the view of Rovinj in the evening from our hotel room.  Gorgeous.

Yours in Croatian evenings, Kim.

3 thoughts on “The Mize’s Invade Croatia

Leave a Reply

