Vienna Day 3: Naschmarkt and Yet Another Church

For my most persevering followers, a short recount of our third day in Vienna.   The most unique aspect of our third day, is that my loving husband had to leave to return to Montana for work, while my parents and I continued further travels.  This particular day, my father also left us to travel to Bratislava, Slovakia for work-related duties.  Did you know you could just hop a train in Vienna and be in Slovakia within an hour?  I love Europe.

At any rate, after a lovely morning at the market, it was an afternoon with just my Mom and my son!

The whole clan, at the Naschmarkt, Vienna!

The whole clan, at the Naschmarkt, Vienna! Eliot practicing his ‘be healed’ pose.

The Naschmarkt, famous for a range of spices and exotic delicacies, breads and seafood.

The Naschmarkt, famous for a range of spices and exotic delicacies, breads and seafood dates back to the 16th Century.

Let it be known, I stocked UP on the spices here.  Or perhaps, let Customs know….!?

Olives!  What is not picutured is the most tasty Baklava and other honey-infused treats.

Antipasta Galore! What is not pictured is the most tasty Baklava and other honey-infused treats.

Once we said a somber Auf Wiedersehen to my hubby (honestly, not easy, it would be a long 10 days!), we continued on through the 1.5 kilometers of market…until the lil ‘un fell completely asleep.

Sleeping toddler in a stroller means...spritzers all around!

Sleeping toddler in a stroller means…spritzers all around!

Here, a spritzer with pomegranate. Yummy.  Let’s review:  my child historically has been a POOR napper.  What I have to owe for a two hour nap while Mom and I feast on gourmet Turkish food, I will never know.  So, once he awakes, the search for a playground begins.

Sure enough, we found a playground next to the St. Charles church.

Sure enough, we found a playground next to the St. Charles church (Karlskirch)

I know I have blogged endlessly about churches, and even I am getting tired of the ceiling pics, but this one is unique.  It has an elevator to the top of the dome, apparently it has something to do with the renovations, they probably  make so much money on tourists taking the lift, they will never tear it down!?  So, as you view the pic above, picture me and Eliot at the very top peering down. 🙂

The view inside, of the elvator, and a final set of stairs to take you to the very top.

The view inside, of the elevator, and a final set of stairs to take you to the very top.

A stairway to the cherubs on the fresco's above...

A stairway to the cherubs on the fresco’s above…it is quite impressive to view a fresco from only 10 ft away!

Fresco, anyone?

Fresco, anyone?

Once you climb the 120 stairs to the very top (Eliot made it the entire way!)..the view is a tad bid disappointing!

Once you climb the 120 stairs to the very top (Eliot made it the entire way!)..the view is a tad bit disappointing!

You can see the Vienna woods in the background, but only through chain-link fence. Harrumph.

Yours in cherub-beauty, Kim

Yours in cherub-beauty,
Kim

Leave a Reply

