Catacombs! And, THE Most Beautiful Cemetary in Salzburg

One could take a couple of days alone to make the Catholic Heritage Sightseeing tour in Salzburg and you would not be disappointed in the incredible baroque architecture.  One of the most peaceful cemeterys here is part of Petersfriedhof (St Peter’s Church).  We have been there a handful of times and recently in good weather.  I must add, even if you were to find the cemetery pics unimpressive, be sure to read to the end of this blog for the Catacombs built into the rock wall, totally amazing.

view of the church from the chapel a couple months ago

View of the church from the cemetery a couple months ago

Just as we don’t lack for places to eat or drink in this country, we don’t lack for chapels either (kappelle).  There is even an extra chapel in St. Peter’s Cemetery.

Margarethenkapelle, (re-)built in 1491

Margarethenkapelle, (re-)built in 1491

Incredible view of Festung (Fortress) from cemetery

Incredible view of Festung (Fortress) from cemetery

The tombstones can be elaborate. This one, a bit 'The Walking Dead' style, if you ask me.

The tombstones can be elaborate. This one, a bit ‘The Walking Dead’ style, if you ask me.

So, as I’m capturing this pic above, I notice these windows in the rock of Mönchberg hill (the rock wall upon which the castle is built) , just above the cemetery…(see here if you have not read our incredible day at the castle!).

I wondered WHAT could be in that rock wall!

I wondered WHAT could be in that rock wall!

Turns out, you can see more of it from this view…

just above the cemetary, you see a more 'church-like' appearance.

just above the cemetary, you see a more ‘church-like’ appearance.  It is actually built into the rock, and we walked up there for the upcoming photos..

I couldn’t find it in my vast array of travel books, but our neighbor Christine told me (I hope I am getting this right) when the Protestants where persecuted  and not allowed to worship in Salzburg,  they built a hidden church in the rock.  I have a hard time finding that exact history, but I did find out that more than one sanctuary is carved into the rock.   They are called the Catacombs or ‘Katacomben’.  (even though there are no buried bodies, it turns out, wikipedia says Catacombs are human-made subterranean passageways for religious practice…)

Eliot peering into the entrance

Eliot peering into the entrance

So,we pay the 1.5 Euro to enter, here, Eliot on the stairs...

So,we pay the 1.5 Euro to enter, here, Eliot on the stairs…

the sanctuary built into the rock!

the sanctuary built into the rock!

incredible view of st Peter's from the catacombs...

incredible view of st Peter’s from the catacombs…

View of the Festung (fotress) from catacombs

View of the Festung (fotress) from catacombs

I just couldn’t get enough of the view from above…those crazy Protestants!

St. Peter's Cathedral from catacombs

St. Peter’s Cathedral from catacombs

I have to say, this was the most successful day of sightseeing with a toddler ever!  So, after visiting 2 cemeteries, the Thursday Market, and then ancient catacombs…Eliot and I worked up an appetite…so we headed to the daily market for our weekly sausages.

This is a pic of me, trying to contain my nearly-3-yr-old in a busy market.

This is a pic of me, trying to contain my nearly-3-yr-old in a busy market.

Yours in Catacombs, Kim

Yours in Catacombs and tasty market food, Kim

3 thoughts on “Catacombs! And, THE Most Beautiful Cemetary in Salzburg

  1. Pingback: A “Melk” Kind of Mother’s Day | Leben Lieben!

  2. I was hoping to find out why there were no bodies buried in the catacombs. If there had been, where did they go to??

  3. Pingback: Salzburg Sights Before We Depart… | Leben Lieben!

Leave a Reply

