Gaisberg on a Weekday

In one of my first posts, “Surprise View”…you may recall the view from our top floor.  There was a great mountain I incorrectly describe as ‘not as popular’ as Untersberg.  I must have been fatigued, it may not be as popular because it wasn’t mentioned in the Sound of Music, but it is very popular for hiking, biking, paragliding, driving or busing up and drinking at the top.  Gotta love those Austrians!

There is the playground where I took the first pic.

This is Gaisberg on the right- from one of my previous hikes.  The weather was teasing us with warmer temperatures this day, snow appears to be melting….

So, although the weather was far from ‘balmy,’ Reed took an early lunch on a weekday (how else will we get to see everything if he doesn’t leave work somedays!?)  and we drove to the top as a family.  It PAINS ME that we had to drive.  Although I am far from a mountaineer,  I do love to hike.  So to see others reach the top (poles in hand), my heart ached a little. Still, it was great fun to be together on a Wednesday to see Salzburg from a different view.

The drive up 1, 288 meters was exhausting! Here I am at the summit.

The drive up 1, 288 meters was exhausting! Here I am at the summit.

Untitled 0 00 02-53

Reed, admiring the view. Yes, this dog to his far right was gargantuan. I think I saw it rescue a small child from falling down the mountain….

But, seriously, the view of the Alps here is astonishing- even if we continue to evade bluebird skies.

view of Salzburg from gaisberg

Here, you see downtown Salzburg- the Salzach River below, Castle on the left and the big brown hill on the right is Kapuzinerburg hill!

I reported on Kapuzinerberg hill here

watzman from gaisberg

Once again, Watzmann, the 3rd highest peak in Germany (yes, not Austria, it is that close)…viewed from the top of Gaisberg

And of COURSE a place to grab suppe and bier at the top!  We do not lack of places to eat in this country...

And of COURSE a place to grab suppe and bier at the top! We do not lack for places to eat in this country…

kim in front of untersburg

Yours truly, Kim
Leave a Reply

