“The Hills Are Alive…”

As many of you probably are aware, the popular musical The Sound of Music was filmed in Salzburg.  Ads for ‘The Most Unique Sound of Music Bus Tour’ abound.   One can easily hop aboard the big yellow bus, titled ‘SoM Hop- On- Hop- Off’ and take the 4 hour ride with other Americans, Italians and the like in order to absorb every single shred of Salzburg that has anything at all to do with the movie.   Secretly, I want to take this bus ride, run into the Mansion and belt out my rendition of My Favorite Things (‘raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…’ Please don’t tell the Lonely Planet or Rick Steves).

But, I am too much an elitist for the yellow bus.  No, instead, I  will do a self-guided one-day-at-a-time tour all. by. myself. (sure I can, I get lost and end up in tears doing a simple transfer on the bus line).   Thankfully, one such place is not far from our accommodations.

There is a lovely park and hiking trail next to one of Salzburg’s lakes…so Eliot and I embarked.  Click here for a silly video of our ‘hike.’

(ugh, there is a good reason I didn’t speak during the Hangar 7 video, I am a horrible narrator)

only a lovelly mansion from afar

Only a lovely mansion from afar

but as we get closer....

but as we get closer….

ok, I refuse to give it up.  Any guesses?

ok, I refuse to give it up. Any guesses?

Although all the parks have similar playground equipment, Eliot does not tire.  His mother doesn’t tire of taking his picture, this time with a Fortress in the background…

gotta love see saws and castles

gotta love see saws and castles

and swans!

and swans!

Ok, let me know if you recognize the Sound of Music Scene...

Ok, let me know if you recognize the Sound of Music Scene…

2 thoughts on ““The Hills Are Alive…”

Leave a Reply

